The Eagle, Globe and Anchor has been a part of the Marine Corps uniform since 1868 and became the official emblem of the Marine Corps in 1955. This small piece of metal that only costs a few dollars is priceless to the new Marines who have endured the last 12 weeks of intense training to earn it. This ceremony has been a tradition on Parris Island since the first Crucible in 1996. Delta Company is scheduled to graduate Sept. 13, 2013. Parris Island has been the site of Marine Corps recruit training since Nov. 1, 1915. Today, approximately 20,000 recruits come to Parris Island annually for the chance to become United States Marines by enduring 13 weeks of rigorous, transformative training. Parris Island is home to entry-level enlisted training for 50 percent of males and 100 percent for females in the Marine Corps.
Drill instructors of Delta Company, 1st Recruit Training Battalion, and Papa Company, 4th Recruit Training Battalion, march off the main parade deck with their platoons’ guidons during the companies’ graduation ceremony Sept. 13, 2013, on Parris Island, S.C. The guidons represent teamwork, cohesion and unit identity for each platoon, and are retired during the ceremony. (Photo by Cpl. Octavia Davis)